Man down

Or woman down as the case may be. I developed symptoms of COVID 19. I’d have probably ignored them if it weren’t for being a contact of several positive cases and isolating people.  I am now hiding out in my bedroom whilst Chris looks after Iz.  I’m really hoping they don’t develop symptoms.

I know it’s not the flu but that is the closest thing I can probably compare it to? It feels like when I caught swine flu back in 09.  I’ll break down my symptoms below just to scare the hypochondriacs among us.

Fever- I’ve not had a fever really (yet). I’ve gone over 37 degrees a couple of times  I don’t really do fevers, even when I’ve been really sick in the past after having Izzy and when I had a raging strep throat infection I think I broke 38 for the infection, post op sepsis with Izzy  I managed 37.5.  That said I’m getting the fever type symptoms I usually get which I know means I’m getting sick.  I’ve been so ratty and moaning at everyone.

Hot  and cold- this links in to the fever side I guess but an odd symptom.  I keep getting hot to the point of agitated, kicking all the covers off but In doing so I get really cold and start to shiver.  At the moment I’m ok though I guess it’s almost 20 degrees and I’m tucked up in bed.

Fatigue- So tired. So so tired  going to the loo and back feels like a mission.  I’m isolating upstairs so fortunately no stairs, I think I’d have to rest half way up. My attention span is rubbish.  This blog post is a push but I’m trying to keep myself entertained. My mum just asked me if I feel up to using my exercise equipment “shame it’s not upstairs” I’d laugh but it’d tire me out.

Body aches- My legs and feet keep really aching.  They’ve stopped so far today but it’s not fun!  Generally a bit achey.  Feels like I’ve walked miles but clearly haven’t. I keep getting headaches that come and go.

Cough- Fortunately  so far I’m not coughing as bad as some people have said but I have a cough and sometimes it’s productive, sometimes just dry and hurty.  My chest hurts and I’m trying to sit up/ lay in chest supportive positions as best I can to make sure I don’t add to the problem.

Other- I’ve got a bit of a runny nose/post nasal drip which is annoying, I’m in a dark room- not too fond of the light at the moment. I was a bit confused last night when I woke up after being asleep and it was dark etc, I can remember feeling confused and I think I spoke to Chris as he was grabbing something from our room.  Luckily I’m ok at the moment but that was a horrible feeling.

Appetite- I’ve lost it a bit but have kept eating my bars as I know they’ve got the required nutrients in/I think out of boredom. Old habits die hard!  I’ve not lost my sense of taste yet but I do think things have reduced a bit as sweet and bitter seem more intense.  I’ve got nausea which comes and goes which is horrible.  Fortunately so far no other digestive issues, hopefully things stay that way.

Test- My colleague is going to see if work can sanction me a test, it might not be possible as I can’t drive and walking to the toilet is a mission so walking to work is off the table.  Unless Chris gets symptoms and is well enough to drive I don’t think I will be able to access it.  It seems unreasonable to get someone to come to my front door.

I’m keeping busy by watching Disney plus and other tv.  I have my laptop as I do have some uni work to do but I just can’t concentrate enough at the moment so we shall see.  It feels really strange isolating in my room.  As I said before I really hope Iz and Chris are ok, it is really hard not being able to give them hugs.

Hope you are all keeping well! I think it’s nap time again for me.

 

 

Leave a comment